EyesOn Design Awards are the officially-sanctioned design awards for the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS). They honor the best production and concept vehicles making their worldwide auto show debut in Detroit.

The awards are prominently displayed in design studios around the world and are merchandised as industry validation of great design.


A panel of design leaders representing worldwide automotive manufacturers and transportation design chiefs from top design schools around the globe select vehicles to receive EyesOn Design Awards at the North American International Auto Show in the following categories:

  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – Concept Car, presented. by Dassault Systèmes
  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – Production Car, presented by Lacks Enterprises
  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – Concept Truck, presented by Henry Ford Health System
  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – Production Truck, presented by Henry Ford Health System
  • EyesOn Design Award for Innovative Use of Color, Graphics and Materials, presented by Axalta Coating Systems
  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – Interior Design, presented by ABC Group Inc.
  • EyesOn Design Award for Design Excellence – User Experience Award, presented by Henry Ford Health System Detroit Institute of Ophthalmology
  • Designer Catalyst Award, presented by Henry Ford Health System Department of Ophthalmology


Contact Us

Chief Judges

  • Kevin Hunter

    President of Toyota Motor Corporation’s North American Design Studio; Calty Design Research

  • Dave Marek

    Acura Global Creative Director
    Honda R&D Americas, Inc.

  • Michael Simcoe

    Vice President, GM Global Design
    General Motors

  • Jack Telnack

    Vice President of Design (Retired)
    Ford Motor Corporation

2017 Judges

  • Charles Allen

    Senior Vice President/General Manager And Director (Retired)
    Honda R&D Americas, Inc.

  • Anne Asensio

    Vice President Design Experience
    Dassault Systèmes

  • Christopher Benjamin

    Head Of Interior Design
    FCA – North America

  • Anthony Borja

    Associate Director  School Of Industrial Design
    Academy of Art University

  • Wayne Cherry

    Vice President of Design (Retired)
    General Motors Corporation

  • David Cohen

    Assistant Chief Designer, Subaru

  • Colin Dhillon

    Director of Industrial Design & Marketing
    ABC Group of Companies

  • Thomas J. Gould

    Director of Design
    Research and Craftsmanship

  • Tom Kearns

    Chief Designer
    Kia Design North America

  • Amko Leenarts

    Global Interior Design Director
    Ford Motor Company

  • Craig Metros

    Exterior Design Director, North America
    Ford Motor Company

  • Keith Nagara

    Director of Industrial Design and Transportation Design Programs
    Lawrence Technological University

  • Steve Pasteiner

    Founder/Owner Advanced Automotive Technologies

  • Joel Piaskowski

    Director of Design
    Ford Of Europe

  • David Rand

    Design Consultant Executive Director of Global Advanced Design, (Retired)
    General Motors

  • Stewart Reed

    Chair, Transportation Design, Art Center College of Design

  • Pat Schiavone

    Vice President, Global Consumer Design, Whirlpool Corporation

  • Paul Snyder

    Helen Farago Chair of Transportation Design
    College for Creative Studies

  • Mark Trostle Sr.

    Founder, American Speed Company
    Director of Creative Services, Roush Industries

2017 Docents

  • Gerry Piaskowski

    Chief Docent
    Director of Design at DaimlerChrysler (Retired)

  • Jeevak Badve

    VP, Strategic Growth at Sundberg-Ferar


  • Brian Baker

    Executive Design Consultant Founder Autoarcheology

  • Brook Banham

    Owner, Middlecott LLC


  • Bill Barranco

    Director and CEO, Autovision RCD, Inc

  • Ken Carlson

    Designer (Retired) General Motors Design & Chrysler Design

  • Mahdi Chowdhury

    Independent Automotive Designer

  • André Clemons

    Catia Design & Styling,Dassault Systemes


  • Dan Darancou

    Vice President of Design Ch-Auto Technology

  • Peter Davis

    Chief Designer/FCA Design Liaison, Pixlhut

  • Frank Dionisopoulos

    Senior Designer, Chrysler

  • Glen Durmisevich

    Chief Designer Navistar

  • Greg Greeson



  • Richard Gresens

    Senior Global Director, Laundry Design – Whirlpool Corporation

  • Tom Hale


  • Ryan Patrick Joyce

    Design Manager, Jeep® Brand Interiors Product Design Office, FCA US LLC


  • Henri Kavaja

    Automotive Designer, Product Designer, Artist and Entrepreneur

  • Pete Lawlis

    Head Of Interior Systems Chrysler


  • Nancy Lockhart

    Color Marketing Manager Axalta Coating Systems


  • John Manoogian

    Founder, Forzablitz


  • David McIntosh

    League Of Retired Automotive Designers

  • Bill Michalak

    General Motors Design (Retired)

  • Gail Miciuda

    Director Of Advanced Business Development, SRG Global

  • Peter Montero

    Product Planner, Fiat Chrysler Automotive

  • Pat Murray

    Founder, Murray Design LLC

  • Victor Nacif

    Chief Creative Officer at Brojure.Com


  • Steve Nowicki

    New Business Development / Creative Services


  • Tom Obertynski MD

    Michigan Glaucoma Specialists

  • Dave O’Connell

    Chief Designer, Divergent3d

  • Brad Palmer

    Senior Vehicle Designer, Tata Technologies

  • Richard Plavetich

    General Manager, Nissan Design America, San Diego

  • Christos Roustemis

    Design Lead Cadillac Interior Studio GM Design

  • Sebastian Sullen

    Senior Cad Design Engineering General Motors

  • Kip Wasenko

    Designer, Cadillac